Scale Model Research: AS365 Dauphin

For some time now I have been planning to build a scale model of the Eurocopter AS365 Dauphin helicopter, in 1/72nd scale (since all my models are in that scale). Given that I regularly spend time in Central Pennsylvania, I thought perhaps I could make the model to represent one of the Dauphins operated by the Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, specifically their Life Lion Critical Care Transport unit. They operate three Dauphins.

20160601-160513
Dauphin ready for another mission

Yesterday I was able to do a quick photo shoot of one of Life Lion’s aircraft based at Carlisle Airport (N94); specifically, this is a Eurocopter AS365 N3 Dauphin (N896LL, c/n 6294). I was able to capture – I believe – the critical details I was still missing. I am most grateful to this Dauphin’s pilot John Shouey and his crew for accommodating me and offering helpful comments about some of the aircraft details.

I took a lot of photographs, here are just some of them. Next step is to prepare the artwork for all the decals I need for the model. As I have done in the past, I indent to use Fireball Modelworks for their decal printing service.

20160601-155918
Dauphin getting washed before a mission
20160601-155610
Images like this are a starting point for decal preparation
20160601-155340
A wealth of interesting details

Once I have edited all my images I will make them available as a gallery for other modelers. I will also make the decal artwork available.

Life Lion's other AS365 N3 (N600LL, c/n 6262) leaving Carlisle on 2016-03-03
Life Lion’s other AS365 N3 (N600LL, c/n 6262) leaving Carlisle on 2016-03-03
Leave a Reply

